History of FATart

The meeting of the artist Ursina Gabriela Roesch with the artist and economist Mark Damon Harvey was decisive for the creation of FATart. Both of them had questioned their socialization and history since early childhood. Their critical world views became a breeding ground for an exchange.

Mark Damon Harvey und Ursina Gabriela Roesch

The exchange took place when the artist Ursina Gabriela Roesch helped to realize the exhibition under the title «Frauenpower» in 2016. The exhibition showed art by Zurich artists from the past 100 years.

3000 exhibits by 144 artists were showcased and honored for the first time on 2500m2. In doing so, the fire was kindled to bring the art of women to light. After the success of the exhibition, the artist Ursina Gabriela Roesch and the artist as well as intersectionality expert Mark Damon Harvey jointly founded “FATart” in November 2016.

It was an initiative with character and a role model  that sets new standards for the Swiss and international art scene.

 

Photo: Mark Damon Harvey and Ursina Gabriela Roesch (from left to right). (Photo by Jama Sanneh)

Since then, various projects have been set up that promote women | FLINT in the arts. The Femme Artist Table (FATart) is the only organization in Switzerland that is so committed to the concerns of women in the art market.

With numerous projects, including the FATart Fair, FATart is restlessly campaigning for presence, voice, visibility, attention and acceptance of women artists .

As of 2020 the founding team Ursina Gabriela Roesch and Mark Damon Harvey has been complemented by the queer feminist curator and art historian Pauline Della Bianca. With its curatorial management, FATart sets another milestone in the history of art for women.

 

With extraordinary commitment and inexhaustible perseverance, the core team Ursina Gabriela Roesch, Mark Damon Harvey and Pauline Della Bianca, together with indispensable helpers, advocate for equal and contemporary inclusion of women in the art world.

L'histoire de FATart

La rencontre de l'artiste Ursina Gabriela Roesch avec l'artiste et économiste Mark Damon Harvey a été décisive pour la création de FATart. Tous deux ont depuis leur enfance remis en question leur socialisation et  histoire. La vision critique du monde est devenue un terrain fertile à leur échange.

Mark Damon Harvey und Ursina Gabriela Roesch

Leur échange a débuté lorsque l'artiste Ursina Gabriela Roesch a participé à la réalisation de l'exposition nommée «Frauenpower» en 2016. Une exposition qui a présenté des œuvres d'artistes zurichoises des 100 dernières années.

Ici, 3000 objets d'art de 144 artistes ont été exposés et mises à l'honneur pour la première fois sur 2500m2. Ce faisant, le feu s'est allumé pour mettre en lumière et les artistes femmes. Après le succès de l'exposition, l'artiste Roesch ainsi que l'artiste et expert en intersectionnalité Harvey se sont réunis pour fonder conjointement «FATart» en novembre 2016.

Une initiative avec un caractère et un modèle qui établit de nouvelles normes sur la scène artistique suisse et internationale.

 

Photo: Mark Damon Harvey et Ursina Gabriela Roesch (de gauche à droite). (Photo par Jama Sanneh)

Depuis, divers projets ont été mis en place et fonctionnent de différentes manières pour les artistes femmes | FLINT dans les arts.

Femme Artist Table (FATart) est la seule organisation en Suisse à être aussi engagée envers les préoccupations des femmes dans le marché de l'art.

Avec de nombreux projets, dont FATart Fair, FATart milite sans relâche pour plus d'espace, de voix, d'écoute, de visibilité, d'attention et d'acceptation des artistes femmes.

Depuis 2020, l'équipe fondatrice Roesch and Harvey est complétée par la curatrice et historienne de l'art queer-féministe Pauline Della Bianca. Avec sa gestion curatoriale, FATart pose un nouveau jalon dans l'histoire de l'art inclusive.

 

Avec un engagement extraordinaire et une persévérance inépuisable Roesch, Harvey et Della Bianca prônent avec des volontaires indispensables une inclusion égale des femmes contemporaines dans le monde de l'art.