FATcorner

The FATecke is an exhibition platform in the book salon of the KOSMOS (Zurich), where FATart artists can present and exhibit their work for three months.

#15 Mona Rosa

CYCLE HEROINES

 

21.11.2022 – 21.02.2023

Webseite Mona Rosa

Instagram

Zyklushörbücher - zyklusheldin.ch

51efc643-c970-4a84-9f71-d67e4d9d84ae.jpg
d610d06c-7568-4f75-8668-b128b4cea9fd.jpg

Despite feminist achievements in recent years, patriarchal structures still permeate our everyday lives, influence our thinking and normalise the ideological and physical repression of female and non-binary bodies. Mona Rosa counters this structural oppression with her artistic demand for visibility.

Growing up in the countryside, the 33-year-old artist has not been deterred from pursuing her childhood dream as an artist, despite the art world's structural misogyny. In the meantime, Mona Rosa is active as a cycle audio book producer and also in the FATart team. With her art, the artist enriches the feminist struggle and contributes to an understanding of art that promotes diversity and variety instead of patriarchal consumption.

Themes such as sexism, being a woman, menstruation, ideals of beauty and sexuality characterise the work of this woman from Winterthur by choice with roots in Central Switzerland. By documenting the invisible and social taboos, Mona Rosa wants to provoke thought - to provoke discourse on topics that have been hushed up for too long. The exhibition Zyklusheld*innen calls for a critical assessment of social progress and a questioning of currently prevailing power structures.

In Kosmos, three multi-media works illustrate the realities of women's lives and non-binary persons that are still so readily suppressed in social discourses, state systems and mass media.

The multimedia work An Tagen Wie Diesen was first exhibited at FATart Fair 2021. Based on the month of February 2018, 28 everyday menstrual situations are catalogued and recorded. Whether at the office, in sports, at university or on the ski slope - An Tagen Wie Diesen shows how the female cycle is overcome in everyday life without complaint, even when social structures show little consideration. The sketch series Frauenleiden (Women's Suffering) consists of ink drawings that are created every day in Mona Rosa's studio. In her first exhibition, the series encourages people to deal with pain and suffering and to recognise that this suffering is not "normal" and "part of it" but

 

Exhibitions in the "FATecke"- at Kosmos Buchsalon Zurich prevents us from freely living out our natural aliveness, creativity, love and desire. Lastly, Mona Rosa tackles sexist ideals of beauty with Miss Universe. For the artist, intimate surgery and the American beauty queen craze represent the extremisation of patriarchal role models. As a counterbalance, the vaginal 3D collages show female intimacy as an enigmatic but omnipotent universe. Artfully intertwined, the labia open a view into the infinity of the cosmos.

Despite the urgency and emotionality of the themes addressed, Cycle Heroines shows the natural power of cyclical processes and encourages us to transform social shame into pride and appreciation. Mona Rosa's Cosmos offers space for discourse, conversation, reflection and - most importantly - solidarity and connection.

The exhibition by Nathalie Diserens can be seen from 21.08.22 to 21.11.22 at Kosmos Buchsalon Zurich

Text: Maja Graf

 

FATecke archive

FATcoin

Le FATcoin est une plate-forme d'exposition dans le salon de la librairie du KOSMOS (Zurich), où les artistes FATart peuvent présenter et exposer leur travail pendant trois mois.

#15 Mona Rosa

HÉROÏNES* DU CYCLE

 

21.11.2022 – 21.02.2023

Webseite Mona Rosa

Instagram

Zyklushörbücher - zyklusheldin.ch

51efc643-c970-4a84-9f71-d67e4d9d84ae.jpg
d610d06c-7568-4f75-8668-b128b4cea9fd.jpg

Malgré les acquis féministes de ces dernières années, les structures patriarcales imprègnent encore aujourd'hui notre vie quotidienne, influencent notre pensée et normalisent la répression idéologique et physique des corps féminins et non binaires. Mona Rosa contrecarre cette oppression structurelle par son exigence artistique de visibilité.

Ayant grandi à la campagne, cette artiste de 33 ans ne s'est pas laissée dissuader de poursuivre son rêve d'enfant de devenir artiste, malgré la misogynie structurelle du monde de l'art. Entre-temps, Mona Rosa est devenue productrice de livres audio sur le cycle menstruel et fait partie de l'équipe FATart. Avec son art, l'artiste enrichit le combat féministe et contribue à une conception de l'art qui promeut la diversité et la multiplicité plutôt que la consommation patriarcale.

Des thèmes tels que le sexisme, le fait d'être une femme, les menstruations, les idéaux de beauté et la sexualité caractérisent l'œuvre de cette Winterthuroise d'adoption avec des racines en suisses centrales. En documentant l'invisible et les tabous sociaux, Mona Rosa veut inciter à la réflexion et susciter des discours sur des sujets trop longtemps passés sous silence. L'exposition Héroïnes du cycle* invite à porter un regard critique sur le progrès social et à remettre en question les structures de pouvoir actuellement dominantes.

Au Kosmos, trois œuvres multimédias illustrent les réalités de vie des femmes et des personnes non binaires, que les discours sociaux, les systèmes étatiques et les médias de masse ont encore tendance à refouler.

L'œuvre multimédia An Tagen wie Diesen a été exposée pour la première fois en 2021 à la FATart Fair. Sur la base du mois de février 2018, 28 situations menstruelles quotidiennes sont répertoriées et enregistrées. Que ce soit au bureau, au sport, à l'université ou sur les pistes de ski, An Tagen Wie Diesen montre comment le cycle féminin est surmonté au quotidien sans se plaindre, même si les structures sociales n'en tiennent que peu compte. La série de croquis Frauenleiden se compose de dessins à l'encre de Chine qui sont réalisés quotidiennement dans l'atelier de Mona Rosa. Dans sa première exposition, la série encourage à se pencher sur la douleur et la souffrance et à reconnaître que cette souffrance n'est pas "normale" et qu'elle "fait partie de la vie", mais qu'elle est une réalité.

 

Expositions dans le "FATecke"- au Kosmos Buchsalon de Zurich nous empêche d'exprimer librement notre vitalité naturelle, notre créativité, notre amour et notre plaisir. En dernier lieu, Mona Rosa s'attaque aux idéaux de beauté sexistes avec Miss Universe. Les opérations intimes et l'obsession américaine pour les reines de beauté représentent pour l'artiste l'extrémisation des modèles patriarcaux. En guise de contrepoids, les collages vaginaux en 3D montrent l'intimité féminine comme un univers énigmatique mais tout-puissant. Artificiellement entrelacées, les lèvres ouvrent un regard sur l'infini.

Malgré l'urgence et l'émotion des thèmes abordés, Héroïnes du cycle* montre la force naturelle des processus cycliques et nous incite à transformer la honte sociale en fierté et en estime. Mona Rosa offre au Kosmos un espace pour le discours, la conversation, la réflexion et - le plus important - la solidarité et le lien.

L'exposition de Nathalie Diserens est à voir du 21.11.22 au 21.02.23 au Kosmos Buchsalon de Zurich

Texte : Maja Graf, Magalie Berberat

FATecke Archiv