Statistics speaks plain language

Studies from 2019 show that the proportion of women in solo exhibitions in Switzerland is only 15.1% on average. [1]

The sculpture and painting collection of the Kunsthaus Zürich, for example, comprises a total of 4,100 works, of which less than 4% [2] is comprised of women artists.

The Art Market Report 2019, published annually, also shows that only 36% living women artists worldwide are represented by galleries, fewer than 5% women artists are traded at auctions and not a single woman lists in the top ten artists  worldwide. [3] In addition, there are significant price differences between men and women artists.

 

FATart has a clear stance: It can't go on like this! We demand change!

 

 

 

Source reference:

 

[1] Alexandra Kohler: Swiss museums show little art by women, Swissinfo, June 2019. https://www.swissinfo.ch/ger/datenrecherche_schweizer-museen-haben-wenig-kunst-von-frauen/44938902 (accessed: 18.01 .2021).

[2] Since 2010 the artist and researcher Elisabeth Eberle has been collecting examples and statistics on the gender gap in her long-term project «Women * count» to confront art institutions with the discrimination practices taking place within them. http://www.elisabetheble.ch/

[3] Dr. Clare McAndrew: The Art Basel and UBS Global Art Market Report 2019, Published by Art Basel, 2019, PDF. https://d2u3kfwd92fzu7.cloudfront.net/The_Art_Market_2019-5.pdf (accessed: January 18, 2021)

Les statistiques ne mentent pas

Des études de 2019 montrent que la proportion de femmes dans les expositions "solo show" en Suisse n'est que de 15,1% en moyenne. [1]

La collection de sculptures et de peintures du Kunsthaus Zürich, par exemple, comprend un total de 4 100 œuvres, dont seulement 156 sont des femmes artistes. [2] C'est moins de 4%!

Le rapport sur le marché de l'art, publié chaque année, montre également que seulement 36% d'artistes femmes sont représentées par des galeries dans le monde de l'art, moins de 5% des artistes aux enchères sont des femmes et pas une seule femme n'est répertoriée dans les dix artistes les plus vendu.e.s au monde. [3] En outre, il existe des différences de prix importantes entre les artistes hommes et femmes.

 

FATart affirme: ça ne va pas continuer comme ça! Nous changeons les choses!

 

 

 

Sources:

 

[1] Alexandra Kohler: Les musées suisses montrent peu d'art par les femmes, Swissinfo, juin 2019. https://www.swissinfo.ch/ger/datenrecherche_schweizer-museen-haben-wenig-kunst-von-frauen/44938902 (consulté le 18.01) .2021).

[2] Depuis 2010, l'artiste et chercheuse Elisabeth Eberle collecte des exemples et des chiffres sur l'écart entre les genres dans son projet à long terme «Frauen* Zählen» afin de confronter les institutions artistiques aux fortes discriminations qui y règne. http://www.elisabetheble.ch/

[3] Dr. Clare McAndrew: The Art Basel and UBS Global Art Market Report 2019, publié par Art Basel, 2019, PDF. https://d2u3kfwd92fzu7.cloudfront.net/The_Art_Market_2019-5.pdf (consulté le 18 janvier 2021)